Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

Only One You: Linda Kranz: 9780873589017 Reviews and Coupon

~ search results
List Price: $ 351.34 ?
Price: $ 16.32?
You Save: $ 166.19 ?
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

It's really good read with son.

Its a wonderful and heart-warming book. My son really loves it. We read it together and discuss each passage. It's helping in building his confidence.

Published 6 days ago by Amazon Customer

Very enjoyable...

My grandson liked this book (he's 6) and it was fun looking at all the colorful fish on each page. I think he will enjoy it a bit more as he gets older so I'm sure I will (and his... Read more

Published 9 days ago by S. Riss

Great message & bright, fun illustrations

I got this book for my daughter with special needs. She's just getting to that age where she's realizing she's different and sometimes it makes her sad. Read more

Published 9 days ago by Tara

Great gift for a counselor friend

I work at a school and the counselor is a dear friend. I bought this for her for a b-day gift and she loves it. Read more

Published 19 days ago by DJ

Bought for my baby granddaughter

This has the best message for a child to hear. Looking forward to reading this to her over and over as she grows up.

Published 20 days ago by Kathy S

Good book

I ordered this book for our grown daughter and accidentally tried to print a review for an item I did not like and then saw that it was this book. Read more

Published 1 month ago by D. jones

Awesome Book

I absolutely love this book. It is so cute and inspiring for all ages! The only reason it got four out of five stars is because I received it bent :(

Published 1 month ago by Brittany N Griffin

Love this book & message…!

Got this for my 3 yr old grandson and love it. It has a nice, easy to read message about how everyone is different. Read more

Published 1 month ago by Benjamin Pena

Only One You

My four-year-old granddaughter loves this book because it makes her feel good about herself. I recommend it for pre-school children.

Published 2 months ago by booklover

Only Three Stars

This book sort of rubbed me the wrong way. For starters the "fish" illustrated don't really look like fish. They don't have fins. They don't have tails. Read more

Published 2 months ago by Diego Morandi


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful

It is uplifting!

By Armchair Interviews on August 25, 2006

Format: Hardcover

It's time for Adri to learn and gain wisdom and mama and papa are there to share the knowledge they've learned over the years. And while the bits of wisdom are simple, they are powerful and will serve Adri well.

Some of mama and papa's advice:

-- Look for new friends, look for beauty and keep the memory.

-- Stay in the background when necessary and stand out when you have the chance.

-- You don't have to follow the crowd.

For the other insightful statements, read Only One You and rejoice. It's an absolutely wonderful, positive and uplifting book.

The illustrations of the rockfish are stunning! The brilliant colors will attract children and adults alike.

Armchair Interviews says: Only One You is a must-have book for your precious children.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful

Simply Perfect

By M. Goble on August 31, 2008

Format: Hardcover

I am a teacher of 3rd and 4th graders and used this book to start the new school year. It is very simply stated, but leads into fanstastic conversations that the children lead. I was amazed at how in-depth they took the meaning of this book. I will used it every year.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful

The Most Creative Book of the Year!

By Jerry Flack on August 10, 2006

Format: Hardcover

Kranz, Linda. Only One You. Flagstaff, AZ: Rising Moon, 2006.

Linda Kranz has successfully enticed many thousands of young people (and adults) into the creative habit of journal keeping with her extremely successful and wide array of innovative journals that commenced with All About Me (Northland, 1996; Rising Moon, 2004). She has also created the ingenious arts and crafts book Let's Rock! Rock Painting for Kids (NorthWord Press, 2003). Now, Kranz has essentially fused these two seemingly dissimilar activities - journaling and rock painting -- into a particularly thoughtful and imaginative manner with Only One You. The book has many virtues, both verbal and visual, and is strikingly beautiful in both its concept and design. The neon-brightness of the richly colorful illustrations may well remind both children and adults of the wildly popular Walt Disney film of a few seasons past, Finding Nemo (2003).

Only One You brings together in one very special volume -- just made to perfectly fit into the small hands of children -- the provocative thinking Kranz invites young people to share via her wonderful journal prompts. It is illustrated handsomely with a veritable ocean of painted rock fish. The story is simple so that even very young children will be able to follow the hero, Adri, on his first solo voyage out into the vast watery blue ocean. Adri has been well educated and mentored by loving parents who have shared valuable, lifetime and life-sustaining lessons: "Always be on the lookout for a new friend," and "Appreciate art. It's all around you." These loving messages of hope and goodness offer gentle guidance on how to live a good, rewarding, and worthy life. They are simply stated, but that makes them no less profound as life guides.
Read more ›

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

The Best Gift You Can Give

By Gone-fishn on March 21, 2011

Format: Hardcover

A few years ago I was introduced to this book as the new owner of a toy store. I can honestly say that this book has changed my life and the world around me. It is simply the best gift that you can give to someone. I have witnessed people pick up this book and shed a tear while reading it. It touches you. People buy it for newborns, children graduating from kindergarten,grandchildren,highschool graduation,college graduation,you name it. The painted rock fish in this book inspire the reader to look at life around them and see the world through new inspired eyes. It encourages you to make this world a better place. The children at one of our local elementary schools have lined the front entry to their school with painted rock fish dedicated to Linda Kranz and her book. The words from this book are etched in metal for everyone to read as they enter the school. How many books inspire this in a community? Only One You is truely the best gift that you can give.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Delightful "first book" for children of all ages!

By Dari B. Wayne on September 7, 2006

Format: Hardcover

Books are golden and what better treasure to share with those you love. Only One You is an excellent "first book" that provides the color of exploration, family structure, and simple words of wisdom on how to live a happy and gentle life all wrapped up in delightful, color happy (rock) fish and handpainted by the author, Linda Kranz. Only One You begs for a reading time with your child, especially the youngest ones as they delight in the fishy illustrations and as they hear the words of wisdom and guidance that a child seeks and wants to hear from those who love and nuture them. I couldn't wait to share Only One You with my lovely granddaughter, Kaitlyn. At 11 months of age, reading time has fast become her favorite pasttime, and Only One You entices her young mindset. Author, Kranz, has captured the essense of communication in her words that invites dialogue between both reader and listener...this to me is the true magic that reading to young people creates. An excellent bedtime book as it renews the love for a child by their parents/guardians...what better way to gently send a child off to dreamland.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Review from Books That Heal Kids

By Books That Heal Kids on March 25, 2010

Format: Hardcover

As a school counselor I feel that kids need to be built up, encouraged, and uplifted. This is a little book with a big heart. I even feel uplifted after I read it. I read this with a very soft and gentle voice and the kids become like little sponges. Only One You goes straight to the soul. Imagine if this was read daily to a child. Wow. Positive affirmations are so important. This is also a good book to use with a child who has been doing a lot of negative self-talk. When I hear a child put themselves down, I imagine they must being putting themselves down a 100 times more on the inside. Raise self-esteem by getting this book on your shelf.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Editorial Reviews

Review

This book has a beautiful message, it’s beautiful to look at, and it’s great for all ages--children through adults. (Sue Lubeck, owner, The Bookies)

The world would be a better place if this important book were in every child's library! (Camille Verboort, SFMOMA Museum Store)

About the Author

Linda Kranz and her husband, Klaus, shared with their children the things they found to be important in life—being in nature, finding solitude, time together. Now that their children are grown they have taken these lessons to heart and have found that they have a deeper appreciation of the world. Linda is the author of eight journals and a craft book, Let’s Rock: Rock Painting for Kids, which won an IRA Children’s Choices Award. Linda lives with her husband in northern Arizona. Together they enjoy discovering new landscapes in and around the Southwest and returning to their longtime favorite places, again and again.

Product Details

www.reviewssoftware.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.reviewssoftware.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.