Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

Defiant (an Ell Donsaii story #9) eBook: Laurence Dahners Reviews and Coupon

Reviews & Coupon & Prices ...
List Price: $ 351.34 ?
Price: $ 16.32?
You Save: $5.90 (60%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

It's Ell, Must Read

As is true with all the Ell Donsaii stories, I enjoyed it but could not say why. They are not particularly well-written. Read more

Published 6 days ago by Diane L. Thompson

Odd Numbered Star Trek Syndrome

This series is starting to show symptoms of "Odd Numbered Star Trek Syndrome" I like the characters and the story line is okay but as much as #7 and #8 could not be read... Read more

Published 6 days ago by Shane C. Pruyne

No stupid dancing

I am glad you did not include that stupid dancing in this book. I almost stopped reading these books because of the silly dancing. Please do not ruin the books by including that.

Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer

Really like this

This series is full of new thoughts, admittedly arising from a few new concepts, but it is well done and I love the characters. Read more

Published 1 month ago by Shadeauxcaster

A great story as usual..

Laurence Dahners has got a formula that works! Loving the Ell Donsaii stories, well edited, well written, and the science is fantastic! Read more

Published 1 month ago by Dave Mac

Fun

if you want to sit down and have fun reading than this book and series is for you. fast paced,easy to read

Published 1 month ago by Dave R

another great story

Just love this series. I have read them all and keep wanting more. You can't go wrong with anything Laurence Dahners has written so far.

Published 1 month ago by Scott

Characters

Great read. Like all the characters, especially the government workers. If you worked with government, you will recognize the attitude.

Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer

It is an Ell story

I hate writing reviews. I do not read reviews because everyone has a different taste, and it maybe completely different than my taste

Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer

My guilty pleasure series

I have been a fan of the entire series. Lighthearted, but interesting transhuman, first contact, and physics themes. and i'm love with Ell.

Published 2 months ago by PHILIP FRANK


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

17 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Incomplete storyNovember 28, 2013

By Morisei

Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase

I'm a big fan of the series, but I wasn't at all satisfied by this one. Like some of the other reviewers here, my first impression was that it was too short. But when I compared the page count with the earlier books on the Amazon site, the page count wasn't particularly different. I think what really seemed different this time was that the story seems unfinished. All the other stories are like Harry Potter books, each was a complete story with an obvious hint there is more to come. But this story just seemed to finish in the middle. The major problem with the government was not resolved (if anything it just got worse) and things were just left hanging. I hate it when authors do this. It's like selling someone a half a cup of coffee and then charging them more for the second half. It seems really dishonest. So one star by a disgruntled fan who wants to read a complete book next time.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

A good, but incomplete, story. November 30, 2013

By KMac

Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase

Another fun story in the series. The book ends at a natural "break point" but it is true that the major story is incomplete.

Minus one star for that.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

The imagination used to author this book is enviable. November 29, 2013

By Ron Livingstone

Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase

As the series progresses, we learn not just how imaginative our Author is, but also confirmation of ones own views with regards to how corrupt our Politicians are. Unfortunately this fictitious story fails to curb that fact. The crookedness and shortsightedness of our Congress and current President are only mirrored in this storyline, not as I said factionalized. That aside, the series only gets better as it progresses. The mixture of current fact and possible, or perhaps impossible futures is brilliant. Long may the author keep this series going. I enjoyed the first one immensely. The following chapters have only got better!

Ron

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Love the series November 29, 2013

By Christine Holshouser

Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase

Love the series and happy another book was written but was a bit stumped at the end with Ell in a hot tub while pregnant since that's a major no no.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Next one PLEASE!!!!! November 28, 2013

By nightwnder

Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase

Great episode!!! They just keep getting better and better!! Next one please!!!! Though I'm am a little mad the "idiot bad guy" president is a women & a democrat! :)

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Wow, keep the Ell Donsaii Stories coming, loving every word November 28, 2013

By Evan

Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase

This was a fantastic instalment to the series and I am eagerly waiting for the next one. I am so totally in love with Ell Donsaii, she is my hero.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Defiant (an Ell Donsaii story #9) November 27, 2013

By Travis B. Peters

Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase

The book was a thoroughly good book just as good as the ones before it, I eagerly await the next one so that I can continue to enjoy such a great character.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Praise November 26, 2013

By Sallie Eissler

Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase

I have liked the whole series so far the mix of character and believable and diverse science is wonderful I hope the series continues


Book Description

“Defiant" is the ninth in a series of near future SciFi/Thrillers whose young
heroine Ell Donsaii has a nerve mutation. This mutation has made her a genius as well as an athletic phenomenon.
In “Defiant,” she, her husband Shan Kinrais, and their friend Gary Pace begin working on commercialization of the carbon allotrope technology they learned about in “Allotropes.”
Also, new uses, both beneficial and dangerous are being found for her ports. These wormholes aren’t big enough to send people through, yet they make possible technologies that have created huge changes in our world. Those changes have resulted in tremendous economic and political upheavals. The political disturbances bring Edith Stockton to Presidential power, a woman who despises Ell and who is being stroked in that direction by individuals who want the secrets of Ell’s highly dangerous ‘one ended ports.’
Stockton imprisons Ell in an effort to extort the one ended port technology from her and Ell, having determined that she cannot release that particular secret, must decide how to respond.

Product Details

  • File Size: 2837 KB
  • Print Length: 244 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00GVHUCRC
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
www.reviewssoftware.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.reviewssoftware.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.