Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

CowboyStudio EI717A Professional Video Camera Fluid Drag Tripod Head and Handle Reviews and Coupon

~ CowboyStudio
List Price: $90.99
Price: $80.38 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: $10.61 (12%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

Lousy, waste of money

Lots of drift if you do not lock the head, but it still drifts slightly even then (on a 10 second shot or longer) it moves enough that I can see it moved (hope that makes... Read more

Published 20 days ago by T. mcmurtrie

Solid and smooth

I like the extendable handle - and the smooth movement that this head allows. Easy to adjust and a dream to use.

Published 3 months ago by Dave H

Great buy for the money. Great budget fluid head.

Good fluid head for the budget shooter. Very stiff, but easy to get used too. It loosened up a little after a few uses.

Published 3 months ago by Bird

Saddle Up for a Smooth Ride

This head has made a huge difference in my videos. I no longer have to do any corrections for jerky footage. It can be a little stiff at times but even still it is smooth. Read more

Published 4 months ago by Trevor Yannayon

you get what you pay for

5 stars can be misleading! If you are not a film student but a hobbyist then this is a fantastic deal assuming you have a tripod that will take the size and screw size. Read more

Published 5 months ago by JSMithaca

For the money this tripod head rocks.

I built my own slider dolly and picked this tripod head because a lot of others said it was quality for the money. They were right! Read more

Published 7 months ago by John Brune

Nice Head for My X920

Nicely built, right size for my tripod, kind of big for X920 but very stable. Movement for both directions are very smooth. Read more

Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer

You get what you pay for.

Great for the price. It is heavy but seems a little cheap. Nice little video head. If you want it, get it!

Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer

Stable and steady

Not perfect because of the size of the head itself, not much bigger than the one it replaced (Old Manfrotto 301). Read more

Published 8 months ago by vladbox

A quality video head!

This is a very sturdy head for the money. It fit perfectly on my photo tripod. There is definitely a good amount of resistance when panning, however this is fine with me - it makes... Read more

Published 8 months ago by Dane Jorgensen


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

THE New Standard in DSLR Filmmaking

By Andrew on February 8, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

This tripod head is something of a legend on the Internet and after courting it for some time I finally took the plunge. Well worth every penny. Pair it with a set of manfrotto legs and you can't beat the tripod's performance for the money. Smooth pans and fluid tilts, it performs quite intuitively. I didn't know what knob controlled what but it took about two seconds to figure out because the placement and design is logical. And sturdy, truly built like a tank. I would take two of these over two manfrotto 501 or 701s for the same price any day. A superb utility piece of kit.

Note the 5/8" jack- great for attaching to sliders and table dollies, not great for bowl mount legs (though doable with a bowl mount adapter).

CONS:
- handle doesn't lock very tightly, can slip if pushed too hard
- quick release plate a little clunky for wide based cages or cameras but the part has been replicated and can be found aftermarket in what I consider to be a superior design.

Bottom Line: A must have for DSLR film makers or anyone looking to step their tripod game up without making a big investment.

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

FILUD?II You're kidding right?

By Matthew J. Senatore on November 19, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

Fluid? You have to be kidding me right? Problem is, I am sure some people got "Fluid". others like myself have not. Trying to pan this thing is ridiculous. So tight makingit almost useless. Bad machining and since it is from CHina, no quality control. I remember when Cowboy studio had good stuff.. Now when I buy stuff from them, it's hit or miss.. More miss.. Do yourself a favor and save yourself the trouble.. Pay a little more and have a whole lot less headaches. Thumbs WAY DOWN!

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Great budget video head but not versatile

By J. Morris on July 15, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

I'll reiterate my review title: this is a great BUDGET video head. If budget is your primary concern, this is the fluid head for you. If you can swing an extra couple hundred dollars though, don't even bother looking at this because it won't give you the flexibility you need.

Tilt is fine. The lock and speed control are smooth and work well.

Pan is SLOOOOOOW. A 360 degree pan will take about 30 seconds if you're really cranking it.

The handle is nice. Compact when you need it, but extends quickly to about 20" length for finer control.

Luckily I will only be using this head for short, simple videos of architecture so the head will work fine. I just can't imagine using it for any live action coverage or even an amateur movie project. It might be a good training head for new filmmakers because it forces you to be slower and more calculated in your moves.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Not exactly "fluid"

By Eli on July 15, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

Great construction quality, but terrible functionality. The pan and tilt mechanisms are far too stiff. The movement may be smooth, but you shouldn't have to exert so much force to get the motion you want.

Not satisfied with the product, but the service was speedy.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

CAME PAN LOCKED!

By Mitchell on July 10, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

So I got this and couldn't use it with my 1/4-20" thread of course got the adapter. Found that it is so tight that the panning can only untighten or tighten the tripod head, almost no movement left or right on the "fluid head" is possible, I locked it down and used the end of the handle just to see how much force was needed and I can barely get a quarter turn out of it after 1 minute of pressure... the allen screws on the bottom are of course the only size that i DON'T have and so I cant adjust this and don't even know if that will help. Also the handle extender is very loose and does not tighten it down. I can see this slipping and stripping and eventually failing but that is easily remedied since there are two holes for it. If I can get the pan tension to release some this might be a pretty reasonable product, otherwise it's borderline unusable so I have to give it 3 or less stars for now. We will see if I can make it work. good deal in theory, bad quality control as far as i've seen

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

DECENT BUT WARNING

By Kelvin on November 26, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

I loved this when I first received it but after 2 or 3 times of it being stuck to my Manfrotto tripod (which I know isn't the problem because the ball head I have comes off effortlessly) I can barely stand it. I tried the normal method of detaching to no avail, then apply WD40 to where the tripod attaches to it (same result), and then finally was able to remove it after asking a hardware store for help. The head is now scratched due to how much pressure had to be used with the tool to loosen this up. Worst is that there is no way to ask for a return or replacement because I missed the window for it.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Does what it should

By Glenford on May 24, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

This is my first fluid pan / tilt head and I am happy with the performance so far. The quality and finish is very good. I like the fact that you can control the return rate of the tilting action. A bit on the heavy side but that is ok.

I realized that if you use a very light camera with this head you might have to put a little more effort into panning with it. this will cause you to have undesirable like the tripod moving etc. I am using a SLT-A77V DSLR with a 70-300mm G lens and the head performs flawlessly!

Don't expect the head to make a sudden panning movements as based on the concept of fluid heads, you will probably end up moving both head and tripod. Anticipate making smooth panning movements and you will be happy with this head!

I would recommend this product based on the fact that I am using it for about a month and I have found no issues so far.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Product Description

The EI-717A series, are die cast and machined by exacting specifications for greater stability. Each head is equipped with a fluid damping system. (infinitely or 3 plus 0 step), which provides for ultra -75/+9 degrees tilt range and +360 pan range. Payload capacity is up to 6kgs ( 13.2 lbs.), making it the versatile solution for all DV cameras.

Pan Range 360° and Tilt controls
Built-in bubble horizontal leveling
Ideal for digital camcorder weighing up to 6kgs or 13lbs
A quick release system with a safety lock
Fitting: 3/8" for tripod. 1/4" & 3/8" for video camera
Fluid damping system assures smooth movement
Adjustable counter balance and lock

Product Details

www.reviewssoftware.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.reviewssoftware.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.