Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

ASUS X550CA-DB51 15.6-Inch Laptop Reviews and Coupon

~ Asus
List Price: $ 351.34 ?
Price: $618.00 + $8.49 shipping
You Save: $ 166.19 ?
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

Excellent Casual Laptop

I love the weight, dimensions, and unique case design of this laptop. Excellent monitor clarity and superb laptop speakers (who would have thought possible). Read more

Published 1 month ago by Drifteddy

great computer

Great computer! Smooth OS, very fast and user friendly. Everything it was advertised to be. I highly recommend this brand to anyone.

Published 2 months ago by Jared

Find another laptop

Purchased this laptop for our son for school in early August after researching several brands and my own experience with an Asus tablet. Read more

Published 2 months ago by Anita L. Adams

Great overall laptop.

This laptop is fantastic. The i5 proccessor is very quick, and the 8GB of RAM(upgradable to 16) is really nice for Windows 8.1. Read more

Published 2 months ago by Bobby Hafler

The screen is not responding after ideal time

We have created a request, Amazon sent a new one then we felt very happy. Unfortunately the new one did not even start, promptly returned to Amazon. Read more

Published 2 months ago by Viswanadha Kothagundla

Nice laptop, great screen

Purchased for a friend and he loves this a lot. I would get one of these for myself if I was in the market. ASUS is a great company.

Published 3 months ago by T. McDonald

A good laptop for the price

ASUS like many other PC makers ships their machines with a bunch of bloatware. The people responsible for this are out of touch.

Windows 8 is actually good.
Read more

Published 4 months ago by argsv

Great buy!

This computer runs so much more smoothly than my Acer EVER did! My only complaint is that it has Windows 8 which I HATE! I will likely be putting 7 on soon. Read more

Published 4 months ago by Stacy J Smoker

Good but not so much

I liked this laptop and it is good and fast, but i having difficulties to enter space key, only this.

Published 5 months ago by Fabricio Gallo Paulon


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

15 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Great deal for the price

By Anibal on August 20, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

Ill be quick about this. I rated it 4 but its more of a 3.5

Pros:
Speed. Ram and processor live up to expectations. Windows 8 running super good, and even though im not a big fan of the OS, Im learning to deal with it. CAnt imagine what itd be like running 16gb, which it can be upgraded to.
Storage. Almost a TB storage. Need I say more?
Aesthetics. It looks pretty.

Cons:
Touchpad can be weird sometimes. It might be I have to tweak the sttings but it just doenst feel right at times.
Screen could use a bit more detail, clarity...resolution? DOnt know what the term is here. DEfinitely not the sharpest or clearest screen in the market
USB ports. With only 2 ports, I find myself wanting at least one more.

So for the price? great buy, but dont expect the fanciest of laptops. Its still a decent looking machine

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great Specs for the Price

By Travis H on December 15, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

At $499 and free shipping, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better deal on a laptop for everyday use. With 8GB of RAM, a nice I5 processor and decent sized hard drive, this is a great computer for the average user; home use, college students. My only complaint is Windows 8, but that has nothing to do with ASUS. I've always had ASUS computers, they are built to last and are consistently rated high for the longevity of their components. And as an added bonus: it's gorgeous to look at.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Good laptop for $500. Better available for a bit more now that the price is hiked. Windows 8 though...

By Aditya on November 13, 2013

I've been using this machine for 3 months now. It's fast, relatively light and can handle the heavy multitasking I need (a VM, Netbeans, Eclipse for Android et al all open at the same time, while browsing several tabs).

Windows 8 was horrible. It still is quite bad despite the 8.1 upgrade.

I'd suggest getting the next gen edition of this laptop now though. There's one with a 4th gen i5 and 250 gb extra hdd space available for just $50 more available as I type this

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

I guess ok for the price

By Matthew V Menke on September 27, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

The computer is ok, but the touch pad is a huge problem for me. It is too sensitive or doesn't work right. I also had a windows update problem where it would take forever to restart because of updating. The pc works fine when you plug a mouse in it.

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Do not buy an ASUS laptop

By Karen on December 15, 2013

The hinge mechanism is faulty workmanship. I bought the laptop in August 2013. The hinge broke and because it is molded to the LCD, ASUS is expecting me to pay $165 as well as shipping ($30.00) for the repair. ASUS will not stand by its warranty even though the hinge initially broke after my owning it only 2 weeks. I have never written a negative review before. However, my frustration with ASUS is extremely high. Repeated emails from a local computer repair man, who is officially sanctioned by ASUS for repairs, have not resulted in anything. He, also, has decided to break all ties with ASUS after this incident.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

.....

By Wisam TIP 46402 on December 9, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

Eveything great only i have problem in space button it dosent work fine but the laptop is light speed and good price

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

great computer

By Shirley on September 10, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

Love this computer! It's portable and light. Love Windows 8. My only dislike (but it's livable) is sometimes the mouse is extra sensitive but its only occasionally and doesn't bother me that much! Great battery life.

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Powered by Linux

By george123 on September 22, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

Great entry level computer. The resolution is decent can run youtube vids at 720p no problem. Did not keep windows 8 too much bloat. Dual booted Ubuntu 13.04 with no problem and all hardware works fine and Arch Linux.

Great system for the money

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Buy Used and Save: Buy a Used "ASUS X550CA-DB51 15.6-Inch Laptop” from Amazon Warehouse Deals and save 19% off the $599.00 list price. Product is eligible for Amazon's 30-day returns policy and Prime or FREE Shipping. See all Used offers from Amazon Warehouse Deals.

Product Description

Amazon.com

ASUS X Series X550 view larger

ASUS X Series

Redefining the Everyday Computing Experience

The new ASUS X Series X550 redefines your expectations for an all-around notebook with its slim chassis coupled with an elegant concentric circle finish that keeps the notebook free from scratches and fingerprints. The X550 is also home to a powerful Intel® Core™ processor as well as an optical drive that delivers smooth multitasking performance and the power to do more.

Features-At-A-Glance

  • Barely 1" thin chassis featuring a classy concentric circle finish design lets users work in style and prevents fingerprints and scratches
  • ASUS SonicMaster technology, delivering full sound from built-in speakers.
  • 2-second Instant On resume time from hibernate1 mode with worry-free auto data backup when battery falls below 5%
  • 750GB hard drive capacity means more music, games, videos and files you can store plus free 32GB ASUS cloud storage for 3 years (valued at $49.99)2
  • 1 year Accidental Damage Protection3 with 30 days Zero Bright Dot Guarantee ($99.99 value)

Incredible Performance view larger

Incredible Performance

For a Smooth Computing Experience

Available with an Intel® Core™ processor, the X550 delivers smooth, responsive performance for multitasking or multimedia consumption.

One.Two. and We're Back On

Get up to speed faster with exclusive Super Hybrid Engine II featuring Instant On technology-allowing the notebook to resume from sleep mode in just two seconds. Data is also safe and secure with the X550 which automatically backs up your data when battery level drops below 5%1

Speedy File Transfer

USB 3.0 has data transfer speeds up to 10 times that of USB 2.0, so all your files and content are copied and backed up more quickly.

Incredible Beauty view larger

Incredible Beauty

A Classic, Timeless Design

The new X550 notebook features a concentric circle finish design which not only adds a classy and elegant touch to the notebook, but also helps to leave it free from fingerprints and scratches.

Video Calls in HD Clarity

Enjoy 16:9 ratio full screen video conferencing and improved low-light performance thanks to a highly sensitive sensor which automatically adjusts the brightness under low-light conditions.

Incredible Touch view larger

Incredible Touch

Multi-Touch Made Easy

The X550 has a large touchpad equipped with Smart Gesture technology for a more intuitive computing experience. Smart Gesture technology sets a new standard for touchpad navigation by letting you pinch to zoom in and out of images, drag-and-drop items, scroll and swipe through webpages.



Incredible Sound view larger

Incredible Sound

Clearer Sound and Deeper Bass

Featuring exclusive ASUS SonicMaster technology, the ASUS X550 delivers deeper and richer bass, a wider audio range and pristine clarity by employing larger speakers and specially designed chambers within the limited space of a notebook to allow sound waves to fully expand outwards. With proprietary software, ASUS AudioWizard, it also offers access to new dimensions of sound with selectable modes including music, movie, and even game mode fitting audio needs based on your environment and preferences.

Incredible Cloud view larger

Incredible Cloud

Access Your Data Anytime, Anywhere

With cloud-based ASUS WebStorage, keep everything in sync and access all your documents, photos, music, and videos from any internet-connected device you are on. X550 comes with free 32GB of WebStorage cloud space for three years (valued at $49.99)2.

Relax, ASUS Got You Covered! view larger

Relax, ASUS Got You Covered!

Comprehensive Coverage

1-Year International Warranty

  • 30-Day zero bright dot display guarantee
  • Free 2-way standard shipping
  • 24/7 technical support
  • For more information, visit http://www.service.asus.com

  • 1-Year Accidental Damage Protection3

    • Covers accidental drops, spills, power surges and fire damage for the first year (valued at $99). For more information, visit http://notebookcare.asus.com/
    • Specifications

      • Operating System: Windows 8 (64 bit)
      • Display: 15.6" LED backlit HD (1366x768)
      • Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-3337U (2.7GHz)
      • Graphics: Intel® GMA HD
      • Memory: 8GB DDR3
      • Storage: 750GB (5400 RPM ) + 32GB ASUS WebStorage2
      • Optical Drive: DL DVD±RW/CD-RW
      • Wireless: 802.11 b/g/n; Bluetooth 4.0
      • Camera: HD Camera
      • Card Reader: SD card reader

       

      • Battery: Up to 5.4 hours life1
      • Dimensions: 15.0" x 9.9" x1.0" (W x D x H)
      • Weight: 5.1 lbs
      • Color: Dark Gray
      • Input/ Output:
        • 1 x Audio jack combo
        • 1 x VGA port
        • 1 x HDMI port
        • 1 x RJ45
        • 1 x USB 3.0 port
        • 1 x USB 2.0 port

      What's in the Box

      • ASUS X550 Series Notebook
      • AC Adapter
      • User Manual
      • Warranty Card

      Models Comparison

      Product Model Name ASUS X550CA-DB51 (This Product) ASUS V550CA-DB71T ASUS V551LB-DB71T
      Design Texture Plastic with Concentric Circle Pattern Brushed Aluminum Brushed Aluminum
      Dimension 15.0" x 9.9" x1.0" 15.1" x 10.5" x 0.8" 15.0" x 10.2" x 0.8"
      Weight 5.1 lbs 5.8 lbs 5.3 lbs
      Display Screen 15.6” LED Backlit HD (1366x768) 15.6 LED Backlit HD (1366x768) 15.6 LED Backlit HD (1366x768)
      Touch No Yes Yes
      Performance Processor Intel® Core™ i5-3337U (2.7GHz) Intel® Core™ i7-3537U (3.1GHz) Intel® Core™ i7-4500U (2.7GHz)
      Graphics Intel® GMA HD Intel® GMA HD NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 740M 2G
      Memory 8GB 8GB 8GB
      Storage HDD 750GB (5400 RPM) 1TB (5400 RPM) 1TB (5400 RPM)
      SSD N/A N/A N/A
      Cloud 32GB ASUS WebStorage2 32GB ASUS WebStorage2 32GB ASUS WebStorage2
      Connectivity Wireless 802.11 b/g/n 802.11 b/g/n 802.11 b/g/n
      Bluetooth Bluetooth 4.0 Bluetooth 4.0 Bluetooth 4.0
      ODD Optical Drive Yes Yes Yes
      Protection Warranty 1 Yr International Warranty 1 Yr International Warranty 1 Yr International Warranty
      Pixel Policy 30-day Zero Bright Dot Guarantee 30-day Zero Bright Dot Guarantee 30-day Zero Bright Dot Guarantee
      Coverage (Registration required) 1 Yr Accidental Damage Protection3 1 Yr Accidental Damage Protection3 1 Yr Accidental Damage Protection3

      ASUS- Top 3 Global Consumer Notebook Brand

      As the world's top three consumer notebook brand and maker of the world's best-selling motherboards, ASUS prides itself by making products that always "START with PEOPLE." With a persistent approach to innovation, ASUS goes beyond satisfying current consumer needs to surpass expectations and spark the imaginations of people everywhere. ASUS designs and manufactures a diverse range of products as part of our relentless search for incredible, including motherboards, graphics cards, displays, desktop and all-in-one PCs, notebooks, netbooks, networking devices, servers, smartphones and tablets. Driven by innovation and committed to quality, ASUS won 4,168 awards in 2012 and recently received the recognition for the 2013 PC Magazine Reader's Choice Award.



      1. Subject to product model, normal usage conditions and configuration.

      2. Complimentary 32GB ASUS WebStorage space for 3 year. Internet connection required

      3. Program applies to select notebooks purchased within the USA and Canada only. Customers must register online within 60-days from purchase date to be eligible. One claim per notebook only. Exclusion apply. For details, please visit, notebookcare.asus.com.

      ©2013 ASUS Computer International. All Rights Reserved. ASUS is a registered trademark of ASUSTeK Computer. All specifications and terms are subject to change without notice. Please check with your supplier for exact offers on selected models. Products may not be available in all markets. Product may not be exactly as shown in photos. Actual colors may differ from their appearance due to variation of monitor restrictions and color processing. All trademarks are registered to their respective companies. ASUS shall not be liable for technical or editorial errors or omissions contained herein.

      Product Description

      Dark Gray/No Touch Screen/15.6" HD (1366*768) LED, non-glare/Intel Core i5-3337U (1.8 GHz)/8 GB (two slots, both slots filled with a 4 GB stick)/Intel GMA HD/1TB 5400RPM HDD/DL DVD+/-RW/CD-RW/Windows 8 (64bit)/802.11BGN/HD Camera/Bluetooth 4.0/45Whrs, 3100mAh, 4S1P, 4 cell Li-ion Battery Pack with up to 3.5 hours life/Numeric Keypad, Chiclet Style
www.reviewssoftware.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.reviewssoftware.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.