Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

Acer C710-2834 11.6-Inch Chromebook (Iron Gray) Reviews and Coupon

~ Acer
List Price: $229.99
Price: $228.49 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: $1.50 (1%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

MULTIPLE CRASHES! DON'T BUY

Chromebooks are a waste of money. You can't download anything, even Skype/YM/Oovoo. I mean cmon these are the most used/in demand social networking apps by everybody. Read more

Published 22 hours ago by Mc Anthony Cagas Tadle

it works a great!

Perfect for school! More portable than big laptops that are heavy. It is definitely faster than any other laptop I've used and everything is clear! Read more

Published 3 days ago by Brooke

Lost a small up arrow key and now they want me to send the whole thing...

The small up arrow key (just under the right shift key) fell off and I cannot find it. I bought the CB from Amazon a few months ago but I had just started to use it because I was... Read more

Published 7 days ago by Geek Queen

Fast delivery--Husband almost opened his b-day present early! ;-)

Accurate delivery and description of product.

Packaging was described as previously opened. Having not seen the battery when opening the box I wondered for a moment.
Read more

Published 8 days ago by Monique thomas

AMAZING PRODUCT :)

it was shipped out within 4 hours and got to my house in 3 days. We bought a refurbished version and when it arrived it looked brand new with no scratches or anything wrong. Read more

Published 8 days ago by rhonda hughes

This little guy rocks!

I needed a second computer in my home for when my husband and I are both working. I mostly need access to the internet so a lap or desk top is much more than necessary. Read more

Published 15 days ago by Heather McIntyre

work good

the laptop work well i have no compliants would recommend it to anyone who want a laptop at a good price and its very easy to take around with you

Published 15 days ago by mike

disappointment

Got this as a present for my boyfriend for christmas,
and only a month of having it I had to send it back because the screen
wouldn't display correctly.
Read more

Published 20 days ago by AjayJoseph1

Drop kicking internal memory!

This is the first Chromebook I have ever used, so I don't have others to compare with; however, this little puppy is awesome. No fan! It only gets a little warm. Read more

Published 20 days ago by girlie4zuz

Never buy an Acer!

60 days after buying the screen has died. Should be simple enough for Stone Age customer care professional. Read more

Published 23 days ago by WirelessPerson


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

187 of 196 people found the following review helpful

Acer Chromebook 11.6 - 2GB Ram - 16GB SSD

By Stephen Aforismo on September 28, 2013

I only purchased this a week ago, but I find this an amazing piece of machinery. I am astounded how fast the internet is on this and I like Google Chrome. I switched over from IE because I was getting tired of the constant error messages and having it close all the time. I'm glad I did, it's easier to use and very stable. I have an Acer Netbook from two years ago that is great, but slowing down even with 2 GB of Ram. I decided to use that as my "Windows" laptop and use this Chromebook for web-surfing. I even use the trackpad because it is the best I have ever used. It works perfectly, and I have come across some really bad trackpads in my day. I know that this is not for everyone but if you have a main desktop or laptop and want a supplemental computer for really fast web-surfing, this is the way to go. You won't be disappointed.

13 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

117 of 131 people found the following review helpful

It Supports Flash!!!!

By LowCarbWoman on October 9, 2013

I bought this as a side machine to be an in-between for my heavy IBM laptop, and my iOS iPad. I have always loved the Chrome browser (have used since day 1,) so this seemed a logical choice. And the fact that I could play my facebook Flash games on it (can't do that on ipad!) I got this from a groupon, so I didn't pay $200 for it. But after having it a week, I would have. It is a great toy.

Pros:
- Super lightweight
- The apps for it are free!
- Super super quiet
- Doesn't burn my lap like my laptop does (runs very cool.)
- Has a nice soft-touch keyboard
- Has a great trackpad which doesn't have breakable keys on it
- Has a hi-def screen
- Plays flash animations
- Can connect to my iCloud, Google drive, and Amazon kindle library (with free app downloads.)
- Saves documents, etc. to Google cloud drive so I can grab them on my normal computer as well
- Has memory card reader and USB ports
- Has a camera for web chatting

Cons:
- Battery life averages about an hour, which can be a hassle
- Some newer flash items won't load and it says the flash player is outdated, but Chrome insists it's up-to-date and you can't manually update it
- Can't use the machine unless you're on the Internet via wifi or LAN
- You have to tap with two fingers on the trackpad to do a mouse right-click
- Sound isn't fantastic
- Has camera but can't Skype. My family doesn't use Google Hangouts to chat
- There are great apps, but not as many as I'd hoped. I'm sure this will change in time.

Honestly, the cons may seem big but they're far outweighed by the awesomeness of the pros. Especially Flash. As an iPhone and iPad user, I have missed flash greatly on my portables. This is a great feature and was really the selling point (and the price.)

5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful

Nice inexpensive Chromebook that can be modified should you want.

By bill1228 on November 13, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

Wanted a light weight laptop form factor device for browsing web and doing email, research and most anything else you can think of that is Internet/WEB based. Also have access to Google Docs so can create documents/spreadsheets or open Microsoft docs. Cannot edit Microsoft documents though. Works just as expected. Fast startup and browsing. Has both 2.4 and 5gig wireless support. Only has 16 GB SSD drive so somewhat limited for storage. May or may not be a problem depending on your use. If you don't care about warranty, you can break open and change the SSD to something bigger. In my case I had a 120GB SSD laying around so I replaced the 16GB with it. I was wanting to dual boot Linux on it so figured the larger drive would be better.

Con: Only issue that I have right now is with bluetooth support. Only recently did they provide a version of Chrome OS for this device that supports bluetooth, hardware was there just not usable. Support currently is primarily for keyboards and mice and limited for bluetooth speakers/headphones. I have a Jawbone Minijambox that it sees but will not pair with. Audio bluetooth support is a work in progress right now. I am currently running the latest beta code. Still will not pair. Have also tried the developer version and that did not pair either

Note to folks that are thinking of getting one of these.
You will see a number of negative reviews, not just for this Chromebook but others as well. If you read them, folks were expecting a cheap laptop that would do everything a Windows or MAC laptop would do. That is not the case. Think of a more along the lines of a tablet with a bigger screen, more memory and storage and a physical keyboard. If this is what you are wanting then this is a good device. IF you are looking for a cheap laptop, no matter what Chromebook you buy, you will be disappointed.
--bill

2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

80 of 92 people found the following review helpful

Great for what it is

By D. Lazarovic on October 4, 2013

I bought this as an extra computer to have around the house. The biggest weakness is the inability to print unless your using a google cloudprint enabled printer. If you want to have an extra computer for the kids or guests to use, one that can't get messed up (no viruses, no settings to change), and you only want to spend $200 this is a good product.

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

37 of 44 people found the following review helpful

Two strikes you are out

By Jane Belling on November 25, 2013

Okay when I received it I used it for three days and the screen went blank over half the field was told by Acer that it would cost 200$ to fix not their problem must have been used to roughly. I am 64 year old who sits in an easy chair to use it never dropped or abused had them ship it back. Contacted Google Play where it was ordered from they replaced free. Enjoyed it for five months and the screen again went blank on half this time it was past the ninety day return so
I had no laptop or tablet. So not being stupid I did not opt for another yes it was wonderful but it is not a good deal when two die in a five month period. Have better ways to throw two hundred dollars away.

3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Buy Used and Save: Buy a Used "Acer C710-2834 11.6-Inch Chromebook (Iron Gray)" and save 30% off the $229.99 list price. Buy with confidence as the condition of this item and its timely delivery are guaranteed under the "Amazon A-to-z Guarantee". See all Used offers.
  • Buy Refurbished and Save: Buy a Refurbished "Acer C710-2834 11.6-Inch Chromebook (Iron Gray)" and save 39% off the $229.99 list price. Buy with confidence as the condition of this item and its timely delivery are guaranteed under the "Amazon A-to-z Guarantee". See all Refurbished offers.

Product Description

Amazon.com

Chromebooks are a unique class of mobile computing devices, designed specifically for Web-based tasks. They differ from traditional laptops in a few important ways:

Chromebooks run Web-based apps, not traditional PC applications.
Chromebooks are designed to be connected to the Internet. You can create documents and spreadsheets or edit photos on a Chromebook using Google apps designed for these purposes. The Chrome operating system will not load and run traditional PC software like Microsoft Office and Adobe Photoshop. However, files created in these applications can be viewed and edited using Google apps on your Chromebook or cloud-based applications like Microsoft's Office web apps.

You store your files in the Cloud, not on the machine.
To help make them thin and light, Chromebooks are built without large-capacity drives. So instead of storing your documents, videos, and photos on your computer, you save them to Google Drive (Google's Cloud-based storage service). Your files are password-protected and secure, and you can access them anywhere there's an Internet connection. If you know you'll want access to a file or photo offline, however, you can easily save it to the built-in solid-state drive.

Continually updated, always new, the Acer C7 Chromebook keeps getting better and better. It starts in seconds, has virus protection built in, and runs your favorite Google apps plus thousands more. At about an inch thin and 3 lbs. light, this Chromebook goes wherever you go and keeps your files safe and secure in the cloud.

 B00EYTI0TG_image_1

Key Features

  • 11.6" HD Widescreen CineCrystal™ LED-backlit Display
  • Intel® Celeron® Processor 1007U(1.5GHz, 2MB L3 cache)
  • Google Chrome Operating System
  • 16GB SSD Drive
  • 2GB DDR3 Memory
  • Intel® HD Graphicswith 128MB of dedicated system memory
  • 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN
  • Built-in HD Webcam
  • Two built-in stereo speakers
  • 3- USB 2.0 Ports
  • 1- HDMI™ Port
  • Full-size Acer FineTip Keyboard
  • Multi-Gesture Touchpad
  • 4-cell Li-ion Battery
  • 3.05 lbs.| 1.38 kg(system unit only)


Learn More

Always New

 B00EYTI0TG_image_A

Start in seconds and have that new computer feeling -- every time. Chromebook's cloud-based Chrome OS and built-in virus protection refresh on reboot. No updates to track, no discs to insert, and backups are automatic, too. Unlike other computers, Chromebooks get better with age. Plus, Chrome OS's intuitive interface makes it all so simple.

Always Apps

 B00EYTI0TG_image_B

Chromebooks come with popular Google products built in. Play and work out of the box with Google's Search, Gmail, Talk and YouTube™. Create documents, spreadsheets, presentations and drawings with apps like Google Docs, Zoho and SlideRocket. Get 100 GB of free storage on Google Drive for two years. Video chat with up to nine friends using Google+ Hangouts.

Always HD

 B00EYTI0TG_image_C” border=”0” height=

The Acer C7 Chromebook's 11.6" HD screen energizes your videos, pictures and web content. Crisp resolution brings family closer during video chats, and the HD webcam presents you at your best, too. Images are crystal clear on HD devices like monitors, projectors and TVs via the HMDI® port, and connect as you please with 3 USB ports plus VGA.

Always Simple

 B00EYTI0TG_image_D” border=”0” height=

Chromebooks require almost no setup, so you can go from unboxing to doing in minutes. Tasks are easy using the extra-large, button-free touchpad. Stay online with the Acer C7 Chromebook's convenient and reliable wireless. With your Chromebook, you can even get online at 10,000 feet with 12 free in-air Internet passes.1

Work from your favorite coffee shop, browse the Web at the airport or wherever you are with up to 4 hours of cord-free battery life, you can get more done in your day.

1 Your Chromebook comes with 12 free Gogo® in-air Internet passes (estimated $150 value, redeemable for two years after Chromebook purchase) usable on continental U.S. flights of participating airlines.

Product Description

Acer C710-2834 Chrome book comes with these high level specs: Intel Celeron Processor 1007U, Google Chrome Operating System, 11.6" HD Widescreen CineCrystal LED-backlit Display, Mobile Intel NM70 Express Chipset, Intel HD Graphics with 128MB of dedicated system memory, 2048MB DDR3 Memory, 16GB SSD Drive, 2-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader, 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN, 10/100 Ethernet LAN, Built-In HD Webcam, 3 - USB 2.0 Ports, 1 - HDMI Port, 1 - Ethernet Port, 4-cell Li-ion Battery (2500 mAh), Up to 4-hours Battery Life, 3.05 lbs. | 1.38 kg (system unit only)
www.reviewssoftware.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.reviewssoftware.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.